如何进行交易

在线加密货币领域的新手并想学习如何进行交易? 如果是这样,这个过程比你想象的要容易得多。 话虽如此,通过放置错误的加密交易订单而犯下错误可能是致命的——因此本指南是必读的。

在其中,我们将引导您完成如何以规避风险的方式在顶级加密货币经纪商处进行交易的端到端流程。 这不仅包括买卖头寸,还包括风险管理订单。

如何在加密货币经纪商处进行交易 – 快速指南

如果您已经掌握了脉搏并希望立即进行您的第一笔加密货币交易 - 请按照下面概述的快速指南进行操作。

  1. 选择最受好评的加密货币破坏者r:为了进行交易,您首先需要找到合适的经纪人。 eToro 是新手的不错选择,因为该平台以超低费用提供大量数字货币市场。 此外,该平台非常易于使用。
  2. 开户:您需要在您选择的加密经纪人处开设一个账户。 只需按照屏幕上的说明输入您的个人信息和联系方式。
  3. 存入资金: 不用说,您需要先存入一些钱,然后才能开始进行交易。 例如,eToro 支持借记卡/信用卡、Paypal、Neteller、银行转账等。
  4. 搜索加密:您现在可以搜索您想要交易的加密货币。
  5. 进行交易:最后,您需要从买入或卖出订单中进行选择来进行交易——这取决于您认为加密货币的价值是上涨还是下跌。

就是这样 - 您刚刚进行了第一笔加密交易! 但是,在您使用真实资本进行交易之前,还有很多需要讨论的地方——尤其是在风险管理方面。 因此,我们建议您在继续之前继续阅读本指南的其余部分。

第 1 步:选择交易加密货币的平台

学习如何进行交易的第一步——或许也是最重要的一步是选择一个合适的平台。 也称为经纪人或交易所,加密货币平台位于您和您选择的市场之间。 也就是说,无论您是想交易比特币、以太坊、EOS、Cardano 还是任何数字货币,您都需要经纪人为您执行订单。

在选择最好的加密货币交易平台时,您需要划掉许多关键指标。

这包括:

  • 安全性: 大多数加密货币交易所都是未经许可的,这就是我们建议使用受监管经纪人的原因。 这将确保您能够在安全、公平和透明的条件下进行交易。 一些最有信誉的金融机构为受监管的加密经纪人提供许可,包括 FCA、ASIC 和 CySEC。
  • 市场: 如果您想学习如何进行交易,您还需要考虑要投机的加密货币。 例如,如果您想用美元交易瑞波币——您需要确保平台支持 XRP/USD。 我们稍后会更详细地介绍加密交易对。
  • 费用: 当您在您选择的加密经纪商处进行交易时,您将被收取费用。 这可能以交易佣金的形式出现,该佣金与您的股份大小成倍增加。 某些平台(例如 eToro、AvaTrade 和 Capital.com)允许您交易数字货币而无需支付任何佣金。 相反,这只是您需要覆盖的点差。
  • 支付方式: 使用不受监管的加密货币交易所的另一个缺点是您将无法使用法定货币设施。 相反,您需要使用数字资产为您的帐户注资。 由于受监管平台具有接受法定货币存款的合法权限——您通常可以选择借记卡/信用卡、电子钱包或银行账户转账。
  • 功能和工具: 同样值得确保该平台提供可以增强您的交易体验的工具和功能。 例如,如果您是新手,您将需要访问教育材料、模拟账户,甚至复制交易工具。 如果您是一位经验丰富的交易者,您将需要技术指标、高级订单类型和定价图表。

从上述清单中可以明显看出,选择最佳经纪人进行交易的过程可能既费时又麻烦。 考虑到这一点,下面我们将回顾目前市场上的一些最佳平台。

1. eToro – 顶级的 0% 佣金交易平台

eToro 是一流的在线经纪商,可让您轻松进行加密交易。 入门过程只需几分钟,您可以立即使用借记卡或信用卡、电子钱包或银行转账存入资金。 您将可以使用大量加密货币——包括从比特币、EOS 和 Ripple 到 Cardano、Uniswap 和 Chainlink 的所有内容。

eToro 的所有数字货币都可以仅在点差的基础上进行交易 - 这意味着您将获得市场上最低的一些费用。 每个加密头寸的最小交易规模仅为 25 美元——这对于希望以少量开始的初学者来说是理想的选择。 一旦您在 eToro 上进行交易 - 加密资金将被添加到您的投资组合中。 在任何给定时间,您都可以通过单击按钮来兑现。

eToro 还允许您交易股票、外汇、指数、商品等。 您也可以考虑使用复制交易工具,它允许您进行被动投资。 这是因为您的订单将反映您选择的交易者的订单。 eToro 受到三个金融机构的监管——包括 FCA、CySEC 和 ASIC。

我们的评级

  • 交易无需支付任何佣金
  • 受 FCA、CySEC 和 ASIC 监管
  • 被动投资的复制交易功能
  • 非美元存款收取 0.5% 的费用
与该提供商交易差价合约时,有67%的散户投资者亏损

2. Capital.com – 用户友好的交易平台 - 最低入金 20 美元

接下来是 Capital.com - 一个超级用户友好的交易平台,提供杠杆差价合约。 这意味着通过对加密货币进行交易 - 您将推测其未来价格,而无需担心所有权或存储。 相反,您只需要预测加密货币是上涨还是下跌。

Capital.com 提供了数十个数字货币市场——不仅包括像 BTC/USD 这样的法币对加密货币对,还包括加密货币交叉对。 这包括 XRP/BTC 和 ETH/BTC 之类的。 事实上,Capital.com 还允许您交易 defi 硬币。 Capital.com 上的所有市场都可以做多或做空交易。

这意味着您可以从加密货币价格的上涨和下跌中获利。 无论哪种方式,在这家受监管的差价合约经纪商处进行交易都不会向您收取任何佣金。 Capital.com 还提供杠杆 - 因此您可以用比您账户中更多的数字货币交易数字货币。 最低存款额仅为 20 美元,您可以选择借记卡或信用卡、电子钱包或银行账户转账。

我们的评级

  • 易于使用的交易平台 - 非常适合新手
  • 受 FCA 和 CySEC 监管
  • 0% 佣金、低点差和 20 美元的最低存款
  • 对于经验丰富的交易者来说太基础了
与该提供商交易差价合约时,有71.2%的散户投资者亏损

3. Avatrade –伟大的技术分析交易平台

如果您在加密货币交易领域有一些经验,Avatrade 是一个不错的选择。 这是因为该平台提供了丰富的交易工具、技术指标和高级订单类型。 您可以直接通过 Avatrade 网站或通过 MT4 和 MT5 进行交易。

尽管 Avatrade 提供了您在专业基础上进行深入技术分析所需的一切。 该平台还提供免费的模拟账户。 这将使您能够学习分析加密货币定价图表的技巧,而无需冒险。 Avatrade 是大量加密货币市场的所在地——其中大部分都集中在包含美元的货币对上。

作为差价合约提供商,您可以在您选择的加密市场做多或做空。 Avatrade 也是一家免佣金经纪商,因此您只需要考虑点差。可以使用杠杆 - 尽管您的限额将由您的居住国家/地区决定。 Avatrade 的最低存款额仅为 100 美元,您可以使用借记卡或银行电汇为您的账户注资。

我们的评级

  • 大量的技术指标和交易工具
  • 免费的模拟账户练习交易
  • 无佣金且监管严格
  • 也许更适合经验丰富的交易者
与该提供商交易差价合约时,有71%的散户投资者亏损

 

第 2 步:选择要交易的加密市场

一旦您选择了符合我们严格标准的经纪商,就该考虑您希望交易哪些加密货币了。 简而言之,目前有近 10,000 种数字货币——因此您将可以进入大量市场。

当然,这些加密资产中的大多数都不值得你花时间,因为它们吸引了超低的交易量,因此——流动性水平最低。 相反,您可能希望避免交易任何市值超出前 50 名的加密货币。

此外,也许最重要的是,您还需要考虑 形成一种 您想交易您选择的数字资产。 这是因为加密货币是成对交易的——就像传统的外汇场景一样。 特别是,有两种不同类型的加密货币对可以交易——我们将在下面更详细地讨论。

加密货币对

大多数交易者会选择交易加密货币对。 这意味着该货币对包含像美元这样的法定货币和像 EOS 这样的加密货币。 在本例中,您将交易 EOS/USD。 在绝大多数情况下,加密货币对包含美元——但也有可能找到其他货币的市场。

例如,比特币、以太坊和瑞波币等主要数字资产通常可以兑日元、英镑、欧元和澳元进行交易。 话虽如此,最好坚持使用包含美元的加密货币对——因为它们吸引了最多的流动性,因此——点差最小,费用最低。

加密交叉对

然后你就有了加密货币对——它只包含数字货币。 一个典型的例子是 BTC/USDT。 这对会让你交易比特币和 Tether 之间的汇率。 其他流行的加密货币对包括 ETH/BTC、XRP/BTC 和 BCH/BTC。

作为新手,我们建议避免加密交叉对。 原因是它们不是以美元等传统货币计价的。 例如,当交易像 BTC/USD 这样的加密货币对时——很容易进行研究和技术分析。 毕竟,您可以以美元评估该货币对的价格。

然而,在交易加密货币对时,市场价格以数字货币引爆。 例如,假设您正在用以太坊与 EOS (ETH/EOS) 进行交易。

在撰写本文时,该货币对的买入价为 423.07。 这意味着对于每 1 个以太坊,市场准备支付 423.07 EOS。 可以想象,除非您对所涉及的两种数字资产都有深入的了解,否则交易加密货币对可能具有挑战性。

第 3 步:从买入或卖出订单中进行选择

在学习如何在加密货币场景中进行交易时,您会注意到有些订单是强制性的,而另一些则是可选的。 在买卖订单的情况下,这些属于前者的职权范围。 这是因为为了进行交易,您需要通过买入或卖出订单进入市场——这取决于您认为该货币对的价值是上涨还是下跌。

  • 购买订单: 如果您认为加密货币对会升值 – 下买单
  • 销售订单: 如果您认为加密货币对会贬值 – 下卖单

在下买卖订单时,有两件重要的事情需要提及。 首先,所有交易平台都收取称为“点差”的费用。 这是各个加密货币对的买入价和卖出价之间的差价。 买入价总是高于卖出价,两者之间的百分比差就是点差。

如果点差为 1%,您将支付 1% 的间接费用。 这是因为您支付的价格比当前现货价格高 1%。 这就是我们之前强调选择低点差的加密平台的重要性的原因。

其次,当您使用买单进行交易时,您需要下单卖单才能平仓。 如果您输入卖出订单,那么您将下一个买入订单来关闭它。

第 4 步:选择您的入场价格

一旦您决定买入或卖出订单,您就需要确定您希望如何进入市场。 例如,您可能决定通过市价单立即进行交易。 这样做时,您将获得下一个最佳可用价格——该价格将略高于或低于您在交易时的报价。

例如,假设您正在用 Uniswap 兑美元交易——目前的价格为 26.50 美元。 在对这对下达市价订单时,它可能会以 26.49 美元或 26.51 美元的价格执行。 无论哪种方式,定价差距(称为“滑点”)都是微小的。

另一方面,经验丰富的交易者很少会以市价单进场。 相反,他们更愿意指定交易的确切价格。 为此,您需要选择限价单。 例如,虽然 UNI/USD 现在的价格可能为 26.50 美元,但您可能希望在该货币对达到 27.00 美元时进入市场。

您需要做的就是选择限价单并输入相应的价格。 如果您的价格水平与市场不匹配,它将保持待定。 您可以随时取消限价单。

步骤 5:设置风险管理订单

在我们关于如何进行交易的指南的这个阶段,您可以继续下订单,因此 – 经纪人将代表您执行此操作。 但是,假设您希望随着时间的推移获得持续的收益 – 您还必须部署止损和止盈订单。 这两种订单类型是可选的——但仍然是基本的。

这就是为什么:

止损订单

顾名思义,在您的加密交易中设置止损订单将限制您的潜在损失。 换句话说,您可以确保您的损失不会超过特定金额。 例如,您可能决定做多 EOS/USD——这意味着您认为汇率会上涨。

但是,当然,不能保证这会发生——所以你部署了一个 1% 的止损订单。 这意味着如果 EOS/USD 的价格下跌 1% – 经纪人将代表您自动平仓。 因此,您最多可以损失 1%。

至于在哪里放置止损单,这将取决于您是做多还是做空该货币对。 例如,如果您做多,那么您将止损价格设置在入场价格之上。 例如,如果该货币对为 25 美元,而您想将潜在损失限制在 2% 以内,则应将止损订单设置为高于 2 美元的 25%。 如果您做空,那么您将止损订单设置为低于入场价的 2%。

获利订单

除了减轻您的潜在损失之外,您还需要考虑锁定收益。 否则,您将需要连续几个小时坐在交易屏幕前等待市场匹配您想要的利润目标。

但是,通过部署止盈订单,当您的特定价格被触发时,您的经纪人将自动为您关闭交易。 例如,如果您想以 5% 的收益为目标 – 只需将止盈订单设置为高于或低于入场价 5% – 取决于您认为市场的走势。

第 6 步:赌注和杠杆

回顾一下,您现在应该有一个包含以下内容的订单框:

  • 买卖订单
  • 限价或市价单
  • 止损订单
  • 获利订单

不用说,您还需要指定赌注。 在大多数情况下,您需要做的就是以货币形式输入您要承担的风险金额——例如,50 美元。 但是,在决定下注多少时,您需要更加系统化。 事实上,我们建议采用资金管理策略。

这将看到您分配当前帐户余额的百分比。 例如,您可以选择将您的股份规模限制为 3%。 这意味着 1,000 美元的余额将允许最大赌注不超过 30 美元。 每笔交易完成后 - 您的余额将根据头寸是盈利还是亏损而增加或减少。

因此,这也会影响您下一个赌注的价值。 例如,如果您的余额高达 1,500 美元,那么 3% 的资金管理策略将允许最高 45 美元的股份。

杠杆作用

如果您想定期交易加密货币,但又无法获得大量资金,那么值得研究一下杠杆的利弊。 这是由许多领先的加密货币平台提供的工具,它基本上允许您进行交易,而不是您帐户中的金额。

例如,假设您在比特币交易中投入了 50 美元。 同时,您应用 10 倍的杠杆。 这意味着您的本金已从 50 美元增加到 500 美元。 我们应该提到,当交易对您不利时,杠杆也会增加您的损失。 因此,请保持适度的杠杆关系。

第 6 步:确认订单并进行交易

您现在要做的就是确认订单。 通过设置止损和止盈订单,您可以让您的加密货币交易发挥作用。 也就是说,如果您的目标价被触发,那么止盈指令将被执行,您的收益将自动锁定。

如果不幸发生并且您的交易没有按计划进行,那么止损单将被执行。 无论哪种方式,当两个订单之一被触发时,您的交易将被关闭。

如何进行交易:底线

这份关于如何进行交易的初学者指南解释了正确下单的重要性。 您不仅需要选择买入或卖出头寸,还需要选择最有利的入市方式。 在许多情况下,这将通过选择限价单来实现。

此外,我们还介绍了风险管理工具的基本原理——即止损和止盈订单。 当然,明智地选择加密货币经纪人也是至关重要的一步。 这将确保您在进行交易时以安全、经济高效且用户友好的方式进行交易。

How to Place Trades

New to the online cryptocurrency scene and want to learn how to place trades? If so, the process is a lot easier than you think. With that said, making a mistake by placing the wrong crypto trading order can be fatal – so this guide is a must-read.

Within it, we walk you through the end-to-end process of how to place trades at a top-rated cryptocurrency broker in a risk-averse manner. Not only does this include buy and sell positions, but risk-management orders, too.

How to Place Trades at a Crypto Broker – Quick Guide

If you’ve got your finger on the pulse and wish to place your first crypto trade right now – follow the quickfire guide outlined below.

  1. Choose a Top-Rated Crypto Broker: In order to place trades, you will first need to find a suitable broker. eToro is a good option for newbies, as the platform offers lots of digital currency markets at super-low fees. Plus, the platform is really easy to use.
  2. Open an Account: You will need to open an account with your chosen crypto broker. Simply follow the on-screen instructions by entering your personal information and contact details.
  3. Deposit Funds: It goes without saying that you will need to deposit some money before you can start placing trades. eToro, for example, supports debit/credit cards, Paypal, Neteller, bank transfers, and more.
  4. Search for Crypto: You can now search for the cryptocurrency you want to trade.
  5. Place a Trade: Finally, you will need to choose from a buy or sell order to place your trade – depending on whether you think the cryptocurrency will rise or fall in value.

And that’s it – you’ve just placed your first crypto trade! However, there’s a lot to discuss before you go and trade with real capital – especially when it comes to risk management. As such, we would suggest you continue to read to rest of this guide before proceeding.

Step 1: Choose a Platform to Trade Crypto

The first – and perhaps most important step in learning how to place trades is choosing a suitable platform. Otherwise referred to as a broker or exchange, cryptocurrency platforms sit between you and your chosen market. That is to say, irrespective of whether you want to trade Bitcoin, Ethereum, EOS, Cardano, or any digital currency for that matter – you need a broker to execute your orders for you.

In choosing the best platform to trade crypto – there are a number of key metrics that you need to cross off.

This includes:

  • Safety: Most cryptocurrency exchanges are unlicensed, which is why we suggest using a regulated broker. This will ensure that you are able to trade in safe, fair, and transparent conditions. Some of the most reputable financial bodies that license regulated crypto brokers include the FCA, ASIC, and CySEC.
  • Markets: If you’re looking to learn how to place trades, you also need to think about which cryptocurrencies you want to speculate on. For example, if you want to trade Ripple against the US dollar – you’ll need to ensure the platform supports XRP/USD. We cover crypto trading pairs in more detail later on.
  • Fees: When you place trades at your chosen crypto broker, you will be charged a fee. This might come in the form of a trading commission that is multiplied against the size of your stake. Some platforms – such as eToro, AvaTrade, and Capital.com – allow you to trade digital currencies without paying any commission. Instead, it’s only the spread you need to cover.
  • Payments: Another drawback of using an unregulated cryptocurrency exchange is that you won’t have access to fiat currency facilities. Instead, you will need to fund your account with a digital asset. As regulated platforms have the legal remit to accept fiat money deposits – you can often choose from a debit/credit card, e-wallet, or bank account transfer.
  • Features and Tools: It’s also worth ensuring that the platform offers tools and features that can enhance your trading experience. For example, if you are a newbie, you’ll want access to educational materials, a demo account, and even a copy trading facility. If you’re an experienced trader, you’ll want technical indicators, advanced order types, and pricing charts.

As is evident from the above checklist,  the process of choosing the best broker to place trades can be time-consuming and cumbersome. With this in mind, below we review some of the best platforms that are currently in the market.

1. eToro – Top-Rated 0% Commission Trading Platform

eToro is a top-rated online broker that allows you to place crypto trades with ease. The process of getting started takes minutes and you can instantly deposit funds with a debit or credit card, e-wallet, or bank transfer. You will have access to an abundance of cryptocurrencies - including everything from Bitcoin, EOS, and Ripple to Cardano, Uniswap, and Chainlink.

All digital currencies at eToro can be traded on a spread-only basis - meaning you will get some of the lowest fees in the market. The minimum trade size per crypto position is just $25 - which is ideal for beginners wishing to start off with small amounts. As soon as you place a trade on eToro - the crypto funds will be added to your portfolio. At any given time, you can cash out at the click of a button.

eToro also allows you to trade stocks, forex, indices, commodities, and more. You might also consider using the copy trading tool, which allows you to invest passively. This is because your orders will mirror that of your chosen trader like-for-like. eToro is regulated by three financial bodies - including the FCA, CySEC, and ASIC.

Our Rating

  • Trade without paying any commission
  • Regulated by the FCA, CySEC and ASIC
  • Copy Trading feature for passive investing
  • 0.5% charge for non-USD deposits
67% of retail investors lose money when trading CFDs with this provider

2. Capital.com – User-Friendly Trading Platform - $20 Minimum Deposit

Next up is Capital.com - a super user-friendly trading platform that offers leveraged CFDs. This means that by placing trades on a cryptocurrency - you will be speculating on its future price without needing to worry about ownership or storage. Instead, you simply need to predict whether the cryptocurrency will rise or fall.

Capital.com offers dozens of digital currency markets - which not only includes fiat-to-crypto pairs like BTC/USD, but crypto-cross pairs, too. This includes the likes of XRP/BTC and ETH/BTC. In fact, Capital.com also allows you to trade defi coins. All markets on Capital.com can be traded on a long or short basis.

This means you can profit from rising as well as falling crypto prices. Either way, you won't be charged any commission to trade at this regulated CFD broker. Capital.com also offers leverage - so you can trade digital currencies with more than you have in your account. The minimum deposit is just $20 and you can choose from a debit or credit card, e-wallet, or bank account transfer.

Our Rating

  • Easy to use trading platform - great for newbies
  • Regulated by the FCA and CySEC
  • 0% commission, tight spreads, and $20 minimum deposit
  • Too basic for experienced traders
71.2% of retail investors lose money when trading CFDs with this provider

3. Avatrade – Great Trading Platform for Technical Analysis

If you have a bit of experience in the world of cryptocurrency trading, Avatrade is a great option. This is because the platform offers an abundance of trading tools, technical indicators, and advanced order types. You can trade directly through the Avatrade website or via MT4 and MT5.

Although Avatrade offers everything you need to perform in-depth technical analysis on a professional basis. the platform also offers a free demo account. This will allow you to learn the ropes of analyzing cryptocurrency pricing charts without needing to risk any money. Avatrade is home to heaps of crypto markets - most of which focus on pairs containing the US dollar.

As a CFD provider, you can go long or short on your chosen crypto market. Avatrade is also a commission-free broker, so it's only the spread that you need to factor in. Leverage is available - albeit, your limits will be determined by your country of residence. The minimum deposit at Avatrade is just $100 and you can fund your account with a debit card or bank wire.

Our Rating

  • Lots of technical indicators and trading tools
  • Free demo account to practice trade
  • No commissions and heavily regulated
  • Perhaps more suited to experienced traders
71% of retail investors lose money when trading CFDs with this provider

 

Step 2: Select a Crypto Market to Trade

Once you have selected a broker that meets our strict criteria, it’s then time to think about which cryptocurrencies you wish to trade. In a nutshell, there are almost 10,000 digital currencies in existence – so you will have access to an abundance of markets.

Of course, most of these crypto-assets won’t be worth your time, as they attract super-low trading volumes and thus – there are minimal levels of liquidity. Instead, you will probably want to avoid trading any cryptocurrencies that fall outside of the top-50 in terms of market capitalization.

Furthermore, and perhaps most importantly, you also need to think about how you want to trade your chosen digital asset. This is because cryptocurrencies are traded in pairs – much like the traditional forex scene. In particular, there are two different types of crypto pairs that can be traded – which we discuss in more detail below.

Crypto-Fiat Pairs

Most traders will elect to trade crypto-fiat pairs. This means that the pair contains a fiat currency like USD and a cryptocurrency like EOS. In this example, you would be trading EOS/USD. In the vast majority of cases, crypto-fiat pairs contain the US dollar – but it’s also possible to find markets with other currencies.

For example, major digital assets like Bitcoin, Ethereum, and Ripple can typically be traded against the Japanese yen, British pound, euro, and Australian dollar. With that said, it’s best to stick with crypto-fiat pairs containing the US dollar – as these attract the most liquidity and thus – the tightest spreads and lowest fees.

Crypto-Cross Pairs

You then have crypto-cross pairs – which only contain digital currencies. A prime example of this is BTC/USDT. This pair would see you trade the exchange rate between Bitcoin and Tether. Other popular crypto-cross pairs include ETH/BTC, XRP/BTC, and BCH/BTC.

As a newbie, we would suggest avoiding crypto-cross pairs. The reason for this is that they are not priced in traditional currencies like the US dollar. For example, when trading a crypto-fiat pair like BTC/USD – it’s easy to perform research and technical analyses. After all, you can evaluate the price of the pair in USD.

However, when trading a crypto-cross pair, the price of the market is detonated in digital currency. For example, let’s suppose you are trading Ethereum against EOS (ETH/EOS).

At the time of writing, this pair has a buy price of 423.07. This means that for every 1 Ethereum, the market is prepared to pay 423.07 EOS. As you can imagine, unless you have an intimate understanding of both digital assets involved, trading crypto-cross pairs can be challenging.

Step 3: Choose From a Buy or Sell Order

When learning how to place trades in the cryptocurrency scene, you will notice that some orders are compulsory while others are optional. In the case of buy and sell orders, these fall within the remit of the former. This is because in order to place a trade, you need to enter the market with either a  buy or sell order – depending on whether you think the pair will rise or fall in value.

  • Buy Order: If you think the crypto pair will rise in value – place a buy order
  • Sell Order: If you think the crypto pair will fall in value – place a sell order

There are two important things to mention when placing buy and sell orders. Firstly, all trading platforms charge something called the ‘spread’. This is the difference between buy and sell price of the respective crypto pair. The buy price will always be higher than the sell price and the difference between the two in percentage terms is the spread.

If the spread amounts to 1%, you are paying an indirect fee of 1%. This is because you are paying 1% more than the current spot price. This is why we stressed earlier the importance of choosing a crypto platform that charges low spreads.

Secondly, when you place a trade with a buy order, you will need to place a sell order to close your position. If you enter with a sell order, then you’ll be placing a buy order to close it.

Step 4: Choose Your Entry Price

Once you have decided on a buy or sell order, you then need to determine how you wish to enter the market. For example, you might decide to place your trade instantly through a market order. In doing so, you will get the next best available price – which will be slightly above or below the price you are being quoted at the time of the trade.

For example, let’s suppose you are trading Uniswap against the US dollar – which is currently priced at $26.50. In placing a market order on this pair, it might be executed at say $26.49 or $26.51. Either way, the gap in pricing (known as ‘slippage’) will be minute.

On the other hand, seasoned traders will rarely enter a position with a market order. Instead, they prefer to specify the exact price that the trade is placed at. In order to do this, you will need to opt for a limit order. For example, while UNI/USD might be priced at $26.50 right now – you might want to enter the market when the pair hits $27.00.

All you would need to do is select a limit order and enter the respective price. If your price level isn’t matched by the markets, it will remain pending. You can cancel your limit order at any time.

Step 5: Set Up Risk Management Orders

At this stage of our guide on how to place trades, you can proceed to place your orders and thus – the broker will execute this on your behalf. However, assuming you are looking to make consistent gains over the course of time – it’s crucial that you also deploy stop-loss and take-profit orders. These two order types are optional – but fundamental nonetheless.

Here’s why:

Stop-Loss Order

As the name suggests, placing a stop-loss order on your crypto trade will cap your potential losses. In other words, you can ensure that you do not lose more than a specific amount. For example, you might decide to go long on EOS/USD – meaning that you think the exchange rate will increase.

But, of course, there is no guarantee that this will happen – so you deploy a stop-loss order at 1%. This means that if the price of EOS/USD falls by 1% – the broker will automatically close the position on your behalf. As a result, the most you can lose is 1%.

In terms of where to place the stop-loss order, this will depend on whether you are long or short on the pair. For example, if you are going long, then you place the stop-loss price above the entry price. For example, if the pair is $25 and you want to limit your potential losses to 2% – you’d place the stop-loss order at 2% above $25. If you’re going short, then you place the stop-loss order at 2% below the entry price.

Take-Profit Order

In addition to mitigating your potential losses, you also need to think about locking in your gains. Otherwise, you will need to sit at your trading screen for hours-on-end waiting for your desired profit target to be matched by the markets.

But, by deploying a take-profit order, your broker will close the trade for you automatically when your specific price is triggered. For example, if you want to target gains of 5% – simply place the take-profit order 5% above or below the entry price – depending on which way you think the markets will go.

Step 6: Stakes and Leverage

To recap, you should now have an order box that has the following:

  • Buy or Sell Order
  • Limit or Market Order
  • Stop-Loss Order
  • Take-Profit Order

It goes without saying that you will also need to specify a stake. In most cases, all you need to do is enter the amount you want to risk in monetary terms – for example, $50. However, you need to be a bit more systematic when it comes to deciding how much to stake. In fact, we would suggest adopting a bankroll management strategy.

This will see you allocate a percentage of your current account balance. For example, you might elect to restrict your stake size to 3%. This means a $1,000 balance would allow a maximum stake of no more than $30. After the completion of each trade – your balance will go up or down depending on whether the position resulted in a profit or loss.

As such, this will also impact the value of your next stake. For example, if your balance goes up to $1,500 – a 3% bankroll management strategy would allow a maximum stake of $45.

Leverage

If you want to trade cryptocurrencies on a regular basis but you don’t have access to a large amount of money – it’s worth looking into the pros and cons of leverage. This is a tool offered by a number of leading cryptocurrency platforms and it essentially allows you to trade with more than you have in your account.

For example, let’s suppose that you stake $50 on a Bitcoin trade. At the same time, you apply leverage of 10x. This means that your stake has been amplified from $50 to $500. We should mention that leverage will also boost your losses when the trade goes against you. As a result, keep your relationship with leverage modest.

Step 6: Confirm Orders and Place Trade

All that is left for you to do now is to confirm the order. By installing a stop-loss and take-profit order, you can allow your crypto trade to play out. That is to say, if your target price is triggered, then the take-profit ordered will be executed and your gains locked in automatically.

If the unfortunate happens and your trade doesn’t go to plan, then the stop-loss order will be executed. Either way, your trade will be closed when one of the two orders are triggered.

How to Place Trades: The Bottom Line

This beginners guide on how to place trades has explained the importance of getting orders right. Not only do you need to choose from a buy or sell position, but also the most favourable way to enter the market. In many cases, this will be achieved by opting for a limit order.

Additionally, we have also covered the fundamentals of risk-management tools – namely, stop-loss and take-profit orders. And of course, it’s also a crucial step to choose a cryptocurrency broker wisely. This will ensure that when you place trades – you will be doing so in a safe, cost-effective, and user-friendly manner.